Canadian Dollar

Canadian Dollar Money

The Canadian Dollar is the official currency of Canada.

Symbol: ($) or (C$)

Subdivisions: 100 Cents (Cent: singular)

Coins – 1¢, 5¢, 10¢, 25¢, 50¢, $1, $2.
Notes – $5, $10, $20, $50, $100.

Central Bank: Bank of Canada

Mint: Royal Canadian Mint

Currency Code: CAD

Countries of Use: Canada, Saint Pierre and Miquelon.

Nickname: Loonie, Buck, Huard (French), Piastre (French).

Interesting Fact: Every 1¢ coin costs the Royal Canadian Mint around 4 cents to produce and distribute. And although a survey in 2007 showed that only 37% of Canadians even use pennies, the Canadian government continue to produce around 816 million pennies per year, equal to 25 pennies per Canadian.


  • Canadian Dollars are accepted by some businesses in the northernmost cities of the United States of America.