New Zealand Dollar

New Zealands Money

The New Zealand Dollar is the official currency of New Zealand.

Symbol: ($) or (NZ$)

Subdivisions: 100

Coins – 10c, 20c, 50c, $1, $2.
Notes – $5, $10, $20, $50, $100.


Central Bank: Reserve Bank of New Zealand.

Mint: Royal Canadian Mint

Currency Code: NZD

Countries of Use: New Zealand, Pitcairn Islands, Cook Islands.

Nickname: Kiwi.

Interesting Fact: In October 2006, the Reserve Bank withdrew the use of its old coins in favour of a new set. The reasons included: a similarity between the 10c and $1 coin that allowed users to dupe parking meters with the former: most of the coins were far too large to be carried by everyday users: and the copper and nickel used in minting were actually becoming more valuable than the face value of the coins.


  • New Zealand’s independence is debated as there is no official date of independence, only an evolving constitutional status over time. Queen Elizabeth is still featured on coins and banknotes.