South African Rand

South African Rand

The South African Rand is the official currency of South Africa.

Symbol: (R)

Subdivisions: 100 Cents (Cent: singular)

Coins – 5c, 10c, 20c, 50c, R 1, R 2, R 5.
Notes – R10, R 20, R 50, R 100, R 200.

Advisory: In 2010, all 1990 series R 200 notes were withdrawn due to large number of relatively high quality counterfeits in circulation.

Central Bank: South African Reserve Bank.

Mint: South African Mint Company Limited (SA MINT)

Currency Code: ZAR

Countries of Use: South Africa, Lesotho, Namibia, Swaziland, Zimbabwe.

Interesting Fact: The Rand is named after the Witwatersrand, the ridge upon which Johannesburg is built and where most of South Africa’s gold deposits were found.


  • South African Rand notes depict the ‘Big 5’ tourist attraction on the obverse: Rhinoceros, Elephant, Lion, Buffalo, and Leopard. And the 5 biggest industries on the reverse: Agriculture, Mining, Manufacturing, Tourism, and Transport/Telecommunications.