US Dollar

US Dollar Money

The US Dollar is the official currency of the United States of America.

Symbol: ($)

Subdivisions: 100 cents (cent: singular)

Coins – 1c, Nickel, Dime, Quarter, Half Dollar, Dollar.
Notes – $1, $2, $5, $10, $20, $50, $100.

Central Bank: Federal Reserve System

Mint: United States Mint

Currency Code: USD

Reserve Currency Ranking: 1st

Countries of Use: Exclusive – United States of America, British Virgin Islands, Caribbean Netherlands, Timor, Ecuador, El Salvador, Marshall Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Palau, Panama, Turks and Caicos, Afghanistan, Cambodia, Lebanon, Liberia, Zimbabwe, and Haiti.

Nickname: Bucks, Greenbacks, Smackers.

Interesting Fact: Before the advent of electronic banking large denomination bills of: $500, $1,000, $5,000, $10,000 and $100,000 were produced. Richard Nixon issued an executive order for the larger notes to be withdrawn in 1969 as they were primarily being used in organized crime.


  • The Nickel has been made with 75% copper and 25% nickel since 1934, apart from during 4 years during World War II when nickel was needed for the war.
  • Contrary to urban legend there has never been any coins or banknotes made with animal skin.